June 7 , 2021

U.S. Senator Michael Bennet

U.S. Senator John Hickenlooper

Congresswoman Diana DeGette (CO-1)

Congressman Joe Neguse (CO-2)

Congresswoman Lauren Boebert (CO-3)

Congressman Ken Buck (CO-4)

Congressman Doug Lamborn (CO-5)

Congressman Jason Crow (CO-6)

Congressman Ed Perlmutter (CO-7)

Sent electronically

Re: Sign-on Letter Urging Original Co-sponsorship of the Women’s Health Protection Act

Dear Congressional Delegation of Colorado,

As elected state officials serving Colorado, we urge you to become an original co-sponsor of the Women’s Health Protection Act (WHPA) of 2021, a bill to protect the right to access abortion that will be reintroduced in Congress in the coming weeks by Representatives Chu, Frankel, Pressley, and Escobar and Senators Blumenthal and Baldwin.

Despite constitutional protections for abortion, outside of Colorado, 2021 is on track to be the most damaging anti-abortion state legislative session in a decade—and perhaps ever. And on May 17th, the Supreme Court announced that it will take up a case that presents a direct challenge to Roe v. Wade. It’s more important than ever that Congress act to protect the right to access abortion care throughout the U.S.

WHPA will protect the right to access abortion care throughout the U.S. by safeguarding access against bans and medically unnecessary restrictions, hundreds of which have been passed in recent years by anti-abortion state lawmakers. 

Colorado has long been a state that values bodily autonomy – we were the first state to decriminalize abortion in 1967, even prior to the ruling in Roe v. Wade. And now that the protections afforded by Roe hang in the balance of a severely conservative U.S. Supreme Court, the need to enshrine access at the federal level is more urgent than ever.

Nearly 90% of U.S. counties do not have even a single abortion provider, and five states have only one clinic that provides abortion care. More than six in ten voters nationally support codifying protections for abortion access; with 33% of voters strongly in favor. 

WHPA is essential to social and economic equality, reproductive autonomy, and the right to determine our own lives. People hurt most by abortion restrictions are those who already face barriers to accessing health care—particularly Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC), women, people working to make ends meet, immigrants, young people, people with disabilities, LGBTQ+ individuals, and those living in rural and other medically underserved areas.

Cobalt, founded in 1967, is a Colorado-based abortion rights organization. We believe that nothing should stand between you and your health decisions, which is why we are dedicated to fighting for systems, structures and policies that protect reproductive rights and guarantee comprehensive, universal access to reproductive healthcare, including abortion. 

Please sign-on to become an original co-sponsor of the Women’s Health Protection Act (WHPA) of 2021.


Attorney General Phil Weiser

Secretary of State Jena Griswold

Treasurer Dave Young

Sen. Kerry Donovan (SD5)

Sen. Pete Lee (SD11)

Sen. Joann Ginal (SD14)

Sen. Tammy Story (SD16)

Sen. Sonya Jaquez Lewis (SD17)

Sen. Steve Fenberg (SD18)

Sen. Rachel Zenzinger (SD19)

Sen. Jessie Danielson (SD20)

Sen. Dominick Moreno (SD21)

Sen. Brittany Pettersen (SD22)

Sen. Faith Winter (SD24)

Sen. Jeff Bridges (SD26)

Sen. Chris Kolker (SD27)

Sen. Janet Buckner (SD28)

Sen. Chris Hansen (SD31)

Sen. Robert Rodriquez (SD32)

Sen. James Coleman (SD33)

Sen. Julie Gonzales (SD34)

Rep. Susan Lontine (HD1)

Rep. Meg Froelich (HD3)

Rep. Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez (HD4)

Rep. Steven Woodrow (HD6)

Rep. Jennifer Bacon (HD7)

Rep. Emily Sirota (HD9)

Rep. Edie Hooton (HD10)

Rep. Karen McCormick (HD11)

Rep. Tracey Bernett (HD12)

Rep. Judy Amabile (HD13)

Rep. Marc Snyder (HD18)

Rep. Chris Kennedy (HD23)

Rep. Monica Duran (HD24)

Rep. Lisa A. Cutter (HD25)

Rep. Brianna Titone (HD27)

Rep. Kerry Tipper (HD28)

Rep. Lindsey Daugherty (HD29)

Rep. Dafna Michaelson Jenet (HD30)

Rep. Yadira Caraveo (HD31)

Rep. Adrienne Benavidez (HD32)

Rep. Matt Gray (HD33)

Rep. Shannon Bird (HD35)

Rep. Mike Weissman (HD36)

Rep. Tom Sullivan (HD37)

Rep. David Ortiz (HD38)

Rep. Naquetta Ricks (HD40)

Rep. Iman Jodeh (HD41)

Rep. Daneya Esgar (HD46)

Rep. Mary Young (HD50)

Rep. Cathy Kipp (HD52)

Rep. Andrew Boesenecker (HD53)

Rep. Barbara McLachlan (HD59)

Rep. Don Valdez (HD62)